1850 mourning – photos

I’ve been wanting to do a more proper photoshoot with my 1850 mourning dress (click link to see the construction post) since wearing it for the first time in Bath last year. Although I have pictures of the event, the dress just is so perfect for a moody Victorian shoot. The breakfast/rowing pictures of Bath are amazing memories, but don’t fully fit the heavy mourning vibe.

Yesterday, I finally managed to go out, and had my partner be ‘living tripod’ (keep clicking the shutter button while I pose). The late afternoon sunlight was quite nice for pictures, and the winter foresty vibe goes really well with the full black dress. I had a lot of fun looking through these and editing, so they deserve their own post! The undersleeves and mourning veil are antiques, everything else I made. I also took out the sontag (shawl/wrap garment) I crocheted a couple of years ago, and included some shots with that.

15 thoughts on “1850 mourning – photos

    • Thank you! I love how the simple rectangle of the veil works so well over a bonnet, it’s clear these were made to be worn over one. And yes! It’s rarely visible in real life, but I thought it was fitting for these pictures to take it down for some ;).

Leave a comment