2023 Year in Review

A very happy new year everyone!

It’s the time of year again to look back and forward, so let’s have a look at what I made last year.

The year started with an event end of January, for which I firstly made this black wool ca. 1905 skirt. It’s based on a pattern from de Gracieuse. I wanted something versatile, but with some details, and I quite like how it came out.

1905 Wool walking skirt

The second thing I made for the event was a 1905 lace ballgown. I also wore this for a 1910 ball later in the year, where this picture was made. It was really nice to be able to wear it twice already, even though it was technically a little ‘old’ for the second event. It’s wonderfully floofy, and lovely to dance in.

1905 Lace ballgown

For the same 1910 event, I also needed a day-outfit. I ended up following a picture from de Gracieuse again, and made this dotted ensemble. It was a little bit of a rushed make, but that was okay given how busy that period was for me. 1910 isn’t really my period, but I was happy I managed to make something fun, and the event itself was wonderful time spent with friends.

1910 Day dress

In between the Edwardian sewing, I also finished this ca. 1850 mourning dress. I’d started this in 2022, and then left it a bit for other deadlines. I finished this for my trip to Bath, and wore it the day after the ball.

1850 Mourning dress

Over the summer, I didn’t really do any historical sewing, but I did manage to sew two pairs of summer trousers for myself.

My final finished project this year was my fall 1890’s bodice and skirt. This wasn’t made for an event, and it was nice to do some stashbusting without a deadline. This period is so dramatic, it’s great for some nice spooky pictures.

1890s ensemble

In the final months of the year, I’ve mostly been working on the eternal hand-sewn stays project. It’s definitely not finished yet, but all panels are actually sewn together and I’ve been able to try it on. I might do an update post on these soon, as this is such a long-term project I don’t want to wait until they’re fully finished to share them again.

Stays panels being sewn together.

That was it! 2023 was a very busy year in general, and one where there were many weeks in which I didn’t get any sewing done. Post-covid restriction life meant more things to do outside the house, and less time to sew. I’m happy with the things I finished, and thankful for the time spent with lovely people while wearing them.

I also did quite a lot of other making, from mini felt ornaments, to costume parts for my dance group and many, many cute crocheted animals (not all pictured here).

7 thoughts on “2023 Year in Review

  1. My goodness! I had no idea you did all those little projects (animals, ornaments, etc.) as well historical outfits and “everyday clothing.” Such a busy lady.

    I meant to comment on your summer trousers earlier. They are very attractive – and you look good in them. That’s a style I wore often when I was younger.

    Are the crochet toys a charity project?

    Sheila

  2. I love the chickens! And the trousers, those are gorgeous and you’ve inspired me to make some too. I love wearing dresses, sometimes pants are just a more practical idea!

Leave a comment