Regency spencer jacket

Now my blue regency dress is done, I want to wear it and the next event is in a couple of weeks, so good news for me! The only problem, it’s outside, in the Netherlands, in December. So thin silk and cotton are not going to cut it. I therefore decided to make a spencer jacket. And a muff. And a bonnet. And if possible a chemisette. A bit optimistic, but who knows. In any case, the spencer has the priority here, and as I already had the pattern and fabric, this should be very doable. So two weeks ago I cut and printed and assembled the pattern. I made the mock-up and made adjustments. Last week, I cut the fabric, the lining, sewed them together and pinned the bodice together. Last weekend I assembled the pieces, made the collar and sleeves, put everything together and finished the raw edges. I even started on the button-holes. Because, of course, for a last-minute project it’s a good plan to make 5 hand-sewn button-holes. Well… at least it’ll be pretty when it’s done! At the time of writing, I’ve made 3 button-holes and attatched the buttons, so if I run out of time it will close with 3 instead of 5 buttons!

Finished pictures will come after the 7th of December, when the event has happened, but I have some construction pictures!

The spencer is made from light-weight blue wool, which is gorgeous, but should really be seen in daylight. My flash doesn’t do it justice. The lining is white cotton, and I used Sense & Sensibility’s spencer pattern, but adapted it to have a high closure and fit my figure a bit better.

The inside of the sleeves before attaching them to the bodice.

20141121_144134

 

 

Gathering the sleeve cap

20141121_144210

 

 

The bodice assembled, before finishing the edges and the sleeves.

20141121_144318

 

 

And from the outside, on my dummy

20141121_144436

 

 

And from the back.

20141121_144455

 

 

Pinning the sleeve into the arm-hole.

20141121_150849

 

 

And with the sleeves attatched and the edges finished. Pinned to close.

20141121_214229

 

 

Close-up of the sleeve cap. The color is a bit weird here, it’s prettier in person.

20141121_214321

 

 

From the back!

20141121_214340

 

 

And a little preview of it worn over my dress! I’m still in love with the fabric, this picture shows the color best.

 

IMG_0552

Leave a Reply

