Regency bonnet

When I decided to make a spencer jacket to be able to wear my blue Regency dress outside, I figured that was also the perfect opportunity to finally make up a bonnet. A few years back I bought a  straw half-sunhat-thing on a discount which would be a perfect base for a straw bonnet. I delayed decorating until I had something to wear it with though, and now I’m glad I did because it fits with my dress now!

 

My main inspiration was the blue/straw bonnet in this fashion plate:

Although the straw bonnet is a regency stereotype, I believe fabric-covered bonnets were actually more common. Most fashion plates show other types. The straw version was easiest to make though, so I chose that. Aside from the blue ribbon, I really wanted flower decorations to fancy it up a bit.

 

20141130_105717

 

I bought a fabric (plastic) flower from Xenos and took off the blossoms. I then pinned them to the side and pinned the ribbon over it to see what it would look like. This was the approved version.

 

20141130_111150

I started with sewing on the ribbons to tie it close

 

20141130_111143

 

I then glued on the flowers with my glue-gun. Not very period, but the whole thing is plasticky anyway, and it wasn’t going to show.

 

20141130_111858

I don’t really trust glue, so I sewed on the flowers for good measure.

 

20141130_113819

And then I sewed on the blue ribbon around the brim.

 

And finished!

Photo’s of the bonnet worn will come soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

