De Gracieuse – a walk-through

This is a walk-through on how to get original Victorian patterns from the Dutch magazine De Gracieuse, which was published from 1862 to 1936. It has the original patterns included, but they can be a bit difficult to find, so this is a guide. I originally wrote this post in March 2014. As of September 2016, however, the website of the De Gracieuse magazine has changed making a large part of the original post useless or faulty. This post was therefore updated in October 2016 to reflect the new website. It’s actually a bit less orderly than the previous website when it comes to browsing, so I’ve tried to tell you how best to find stuff. Click the link below to see the full (updated) original post.

Atelier Nostalgia

Update – This is a walk-through on how to get original Victorian patterns from the Dutch magazine De Gracieuse, which was published from 1862 to 1936. It has the original patterns included, but they can be a bit difficult to find, so this is a guide. I originally wrote this post in March 2014. As of September 2016, however, the website of the De Gracieuse magazine has changed making a large part of the original post useless or faulty. This post was therefore updated in October 2016 to reflect the new website. It’s actually a bit less orderly than the previous website when it comes to browsing, so I’ve tried to tell you how best to find stuff.

The Dutch woman’s magazine ‘De Gracieuse’ (meaning ‘the graceful’) was in print from 1862 through 1936 and focused on fashion and crafts. Its fashions were directly inspired by the French fashions of the…

View original post 1,566 more words

6 thoughts on “De Gracieuse – a walk-through

  1. I am so happy you posted the link to “De Gracieuse” and I have been looking at the 1860’s and 70’s fashions and patterns. It is a pity that I am unable to read the instructions on the pattern sheets because it is so small. Do you have access to the originals?

    • Glad it’s useful! I can’t read them either, unfortunately. The originals are in the archive of the Gemeentemuseum in the Hague, and I believe that they’re available to look at if you make an appointment. You have to pay for any copying though.

  2. To my distress, I have not been able to access the Gracieuse collection(or any other images on the museum’s website) since they changed their website. I have tried on several different computers. Every time I search for anything or click on “show full collection” or “surprise me”, the screen just goes blank. I am extremely upset about this. Can you tell me, are you still able to access the collection?

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

