Bustle cage

When I started my 1870’s corset, it was mostly as a patterning exercise. But halfway through the patterning, I decided to start a new project, namely a 1870’s bustle dress! So I decided to fully finish the corset. Of course, I now also needed a bustle cage. I already had the pattern for the Truly Victorian 101 petticoat with wire bustle. It suited very well, as it’s a wire bustle with additional ruffle overlay so you don’t really need an extra petticoat. (Although it never hurts of course)

The pattern went together really well. It’s also remarkably light to wear, and it folds up really well. No problem moving and sitting at all, definitely reccomended.

I forgot to take any in-progress pictures except of the cut fabric.So instead, some images of the finished bustle!

From the front. My only mistake was making the waistband way too long and I didn’t want to unpick it, so I just fold it over till it fits.

IMG_7530

The back. Ruffles galore! I’m getting better at folded hems…

IMG_7534

And of course, the most important part, from the side! Really looking forward to making a dress to go on top of this! A post about the plans is coming soon.

IMG_7540

3 thoughts on “Bustle cage

  1. Pingback: 2016 Overview | Atelier Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

