Edwardian outfit – pictures

Last April I wore my full Edwardian outfit for a yearly fantasy event. There are always a lot of photographers present, and I met up with the same photographer who took the latest pictures of my 1860s ballgown, so I now have some very nice images of my outfit! All images were taken at Elfia, on the grounds of Castle de Haar (restrored from a medieval ruin between 1895 and 1912, so the outfit fits quite well with the grounds 😉 ).

I wore nearly my full Edwardian outfit, I only substituted my shift with a thermo-shirt as it was about 8C outside (seriously, it was the 25th of april, stupid weather). Luckily, we did manage to keep it mostly dry with only brief showers. Those are also the reason for the umbrella I’m carrying in some of the images.

What I made in this outfit: Bust-improvers, Corset, Corset-cover, Drawers, Petticoat, Blouse, Skirt, Jacket, Hat & Purse. The gloves are vintage and the umbrella was a necessary evil because of the weather. (by the way, an umbrella combined with a hat this size doesn’t work, no way to keep it centered above you as the hat is in the way. I just fled inside when it started to rain).

 

DSC09035

Photographer: Brigitte Jansen

elfia-14

Photographer: Ron Lauwers.

Erwin van den Eijkhof

Photographer: Erwin van den Eijkhof

 

SONY DSC

Photographer: Martijn van Huffelen

SONY DSC

Photographer: Martijn van Huffelen

SONY DSC

Photographer: Martijn van Huffelen

SONY DSC

Photographer: Martijn van Huffelen

SONY DSC

Photographer: Martijn van Huffelen

SONY DSC

Photographer: Martijn van Huffelen

SONY DSC

Photographer: Martijn van Huffelen

2 thoughts on “Edwardian outfit – pictures

  1. I am so impressed. As a very part-time amateur curator of a costume collection belonging to a genealogical society, the fact that you made all that under ware, which of course is needed to achieve the correct silhouette plus the outer wear to me seems daunting. Every time I handle clothing from this period I am overwhelmed by the amount of work and time each of these pieces took. My hat is off to you.

    • Thank you! It took a while to get everything together (over a year I believe), but I really enjoy the process as well as the end result, which is a great help :).

Leave a Reply

