2015 – Year review

It’s Januari again, so time to look back at what I did last year! I made a post in the beginning of the year with my plans. I think I did all right. I managed the first portion of the list at least ;). The rest is still on the schedule, but will have to wait a bit longer. And I also made more than 10 modern pieces this year which weren’t included in the planning.

Let’s start with the historical projects.

I started off the year by re-furbashing my old elliptic hoop into a round one. I’ve not worn it yet, as I don’t really have anything to wear over it, but if I ever get around to 1850’s costuming I’ll have a hoop!

IMG_0695

After the hoop, I finished my 1860’s ballgown bodice.

IMG_1295

And made a new petticoat for my new 1860’s hoop!

20150419_160932

Then it was time to start on the new project, Edwardian! A whole new period, so first up was the underwear.

A chemise:

20150420_075759

Bust improvers

IMG_3072

The corset

IMG_3069

Then I also made  a corset-cover, (which needs re-making, as the ruffles are a bit too much)

IMG_3096

And drawers, which I havent posted about because I only have pictures in which it needs ironing (sorry!)

IMG_4332

Almost done with the underwear now, the final piece was the petticoat!

IMG_5328

So, 6 items of clothing later, it’s time for the outerwear!

These are probably my favourite items of the year.

I made a white cotton and lace blouse:

IMG_4269

And a high-waisted tartan wool skirt:

IMG_5419

So the outfit is very nearly done! Now I just need to make a hat…

 

I also did quite a lot of ‘modern’ sewing this year.

A bunch of cotton skirts with flowers

20150330_185816 20150330_185731

20150330_190304 IMG_2965

And a dress of the same type.

20150330_182227

And a skirt with belt which was a gift:

IMG_2957

Then I made a corset. My first modern one, first underbust and first time drafting the pattern.

IMG_4418

And I made 2 jersey dresses from fabric with vintage inspired prints.

IMG_5266IMG_5247

Finally, I made 2 modern tartan skirts which I haven’t posted about.

 

So… on to next year! I already have plans and the first new project has been started. I’ll do a post with plans soon!

4 thoughts on “2015 – Year review

  1. Nice to see such an overview! You really sew a lot last year. I only made modern clothes and I also don’t make a lot of plans, so it’s interesting to read about your sewing projects as well 🙂

    • Thanks. It always seems more to me when I sum it up like this ;). I think I plan mostly because I want to do so much and buy a lot of fabric, and then also actually want to use it ;).

Leave a Reply

