Inspiration – Macedonian folk dress

The month of May was a slow one sewing wise for me. For very good reasons, because I was travelling 3 out of 4 weeks for both work and holiday. I hope to get back to sewing soon, but for now I wanted to share shome holiday photos. These pictures were taken in the Museum of Macedonia, Skopje, in their costume department (yes, photography was allowed). They’re not all of great quality (low light + glass casing is not a good combination), and although I tried to keep track of the signs I don’t know exactly which costume is from which region or for which occasion. Despite all this, I hope to give some idea of the wonderful costumes and embroidery. The amount of detail in these costumes is truly astonishing. By far the most are costumes for special occasions and weddings. Especially the bridal costumes can by very eleborate and heavy. I made a selection of my favorites, which was very difficult, so if you don’t like loads of pictures, this might be the time to stop scrolling. To see a full-scale (huge) version, just click on the picture.

1

What I love most about this costume is the embroidery, the little buttons and the pavti (the metal belt thing). I actually bought earrings with these little antique buttons.

 

5

One of the more elaborate headdresses. Clearly only for special occasions! (This is a bridal costume). And I love the socks.

 

7

More lovely embrodery, with a traditional pattern on the sleeves. The little thing in the bottom corner is bridal jewellry and worn on the head. (you can see it if you look closely).

 

8

This costumes was one of my favourites, mostly because of the coat. It has a lot of pleats in the side-backs, and gorgeous gold braid embroidery patterns. Also, look at those pockets and sleeve cuffs!

 

10

More colorful! I tried to count the nr. of layers she’s wearing, but failed… There’s an underdress for sure, and a vest, but there seem to be 2 more layers. My best guess is that its 1. chemisette, 2 underdress, 3 inset of vest and 4 vest. But if anyone has more info…

 

11

Love this headdress. The chains and little coins, and all the embroidery and tuffs on the veil…

 

 

12

And yet another lovely headdress. You’d need to be careful not to get it into your eyes though!

 

13

Ignoring the fact that I’m getting repetitive, love the headwear. It’s a type of crown, with again a beautifully embroidered veil.

 

17

More embroidery on this one, I love the gold/red/white scheme.

 

18

Another lovely crown. The little coins under the neck are a perfect example of how traditional costume is not ‘thought up’ by someone, but evolved. (Because who would think of this? 😉 ).

 

20

I really like the vest on this. It’s a bit difficult to see because of all the layers, but it’s a very unique colorcombination of pink and gold.

 

22

I think this one holds the record for the most coins, it must be very heavy.

 

29

A slightly different, darker costume.

 

25

Orange and fringes for this one. The embroidery is, again, beautiful.

 

35

I think this was my favourite costume (hence the many photos). The skirt is slightly shorter than most, and wider. The apron was of velvet, which looks very luxurious along all the linnen and wool. There seem to be at least 2 decorated vests, and a crown.

 

30

I believe this was the most extreme headdress, again obviously meant for a bride. To balance this thing must’ve been a challenge!

 

28

Another darker colorscheme. I really love the head-chain and roses on this one.

 

27

This was another favourite. This one has a slightly shorter and wider skirt, with colorfull embroidery on the jacket and apron. Also, she has leg-warmers! The jacket has half-sleeves which are open at the front and then meet again at the cuffs.

 

23

The sleeves on this costume are spectacular, the very inricate gold braid in different patterns. You can barely see the ground colors.

Leave a Reply

