Pink roses – Lolita skirt

This skirt was a birthday gift, inspired mostly when I saw the fabric. The girl it was for wears a lot of Lolita clothing, a Japanese fashion style inspired by Victorian and Roccoco fashions. The one of the main characteristics of lolita is the knee-length (sometimes calf-length) skirts, alwasy worn with a petticoat. The fabric I found was perfect for the style, so I decided to make her a skirt!

The base of the skirt is similar to most of my own cotton skirts, a pleated rectangle with a waistband and lace at the bottom. I wanted to make it a bit customizable as well though. Loads of lolita skirts have high waists decorated with bows and lace, so I decided to make a ‘belt’ thing to wear with the skirt. This way it seems high-waisted, but can be worn without the belt for more casual wear as well. Finally, I also made a big fabric bow which can be worn with the skirt or as corsage. (I just attached a safety-pin to put it on or off). The fabric is cotton I found in Edinburgh, the lace I already had but was pure white, so I tea-deyed it.

So, pictures:

IMG_2957

The whole ensemble. Skirt, belt and bow

 

IMG_2949

The side of the skirt with belt.

IMG_2950

And the back. The belt laces in the back. The laces are still quite long, so she can cut them to the length she prefers.

IMG_2953

The front of the belt, with lace and 2 little bows.

IMG_2951

The lacing in the back.

IMG_2958

The skirt without the belt, as a more casual look.

IMG_2959

The zipper.

IMG_2960

And with the bow-corsage-thing to the waistband. Here it’s on the front/side.

IMG_2961

The bow.

IMG_2963

It can also be worn at the back.

4 thoughts on “Pink roses – Lolita skirt

Leave a Reply

