Sewing – Simple skirts

Looking back at my sewing, by far the largest part has been simple skirts. I love skirts, and wear them most of the time, to where people actually comment when I’m not wearing one. As they’re easy and quick to make, I have quite a lot, mostly wide and knee-length. So it’s time for a quick overview.

img_7580_zpsyje7k4s5 (440x660)

I think this was the first circle-skirt I ever made. I still like the  colour a lot.

 

img_7596_zpsef5eb1y4 (440x660)

I love plaid, and this fabric was just too pretty to resist when I saw it.

img_7585_zpsu6xnbabw (440x660)

I love toile de jouy, so I simply had to make something with it. The only downside is that this fabric creases terribly…

img_7584_zpslpjsqw0b (440x660)

My cupcake skirt. I don’t wear it that much, but I love how cheesy it is. I think I’ll need to make a proper bell-shaped petticoat to wear underneath.

img_7572_zps1uqyxv5p (440x660)

A friend of my mother actually gave me this fabric. It actually had a half-circle printed pattern printed on it!

img_7574_zpsr6cct4bc (440x660)

The latest addition. This was left-over fabric from skirts made for my dance group. It’s an ‘almost-circle’ skirt, because I didn’t have enough fabric left for a full one. I’m really happy with how the lace at the bottom turned out!

All of the skirts above are variations of two simple patterns, either a rectangle pleated to a waistband, or a circle skirt.

As the name says, a circle skirt is made of a circle pattern. You can also use only part of a circle, such as 3/4, or even make a double circle. The basic pattern is as follows:

circle_zpsah79wgoc

 

You can calculate the diameter of the circle in the middle by taking your waist measurement and dividing it by the number pi (π on your calculator). I usually just cut a very tiny circle, see if it fits, and then make it bigger and bigger until I get it right. It’s a bit scary to cut out the whole circle in one go. For a double circle skirt, just cut out two circles (make the inner circle a lot smaller, the exact size would be half of your waist size using the formula), the cut both of them open from hem to middle point and then sew them together.

The other type of skirt is a rectangle, pleated to a waistband. The pattern would be:

skirt-rectangle_zpsywhvuld6

The width of the rectangle is the waist measurement times 3, with the only condition that your pleats will be done in such a way that there’s 3 layers of fabric. (there usually is). The height is the length of the skirt. I won’t go into pleating methods here, but there’s loads of tutorials online.

2 thoughts on “Sewing – Simple skirts

  1. Thank you for posting about your skirt collection and especially for the patterns. I,too, love skirts and am contemplating to sew more of them soon. I especially like the look of your first one and the toile de jouy one. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Book skirt | Atelier Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

